Robert’s Farm (I)

Posted: 30 July 2010 in Robert's Farm

I spent the morning on Robert’s farm.  Cycled out 5 miles and hoed melon rows, pulled up drip irrigation tape and packed tomatoes.  Robert has a vision of farming at human scale: three families on 360 acres feeding 400 families.  Growing chickens, eggs, fruits (berries, peaches, melons…), vegetables (tomatoes, potatoes, corn…), milk and meat and… the makings of beer!

It was a morning of knowing… Knowing that I know very little indeed.  And so I begin my apprenticeship and try to figure out how to be part of a future of living within boundaries, within limits.  Boundaries of healing and community.  Limits that open up new possibilities to grow. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

